Waiting on Wednesday: Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme, hosted at Breaking the Spine, which puts the spotlight on eagerly anticipated upcoming releases.

New WoW

This is my first time participating in the WoW meme (or any book blogging meme for that matter…) but I’m hoping to make it a regular feature on Bookish At Heart.

This week’s pick is…

TenThousandSkiesAboveYou_EpicReadsTen Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray

Publication date: 3 December 2015 by HarperTeen

Genre: Sci-fi, Romance

Synopsis: In this sequel to A Thousand Pieces of You by New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray, Marguerite races through various dimensions to save the boy she loves.Ever since she used the Firebird, her parents’ invention, to cross through to alternate dimensions, Marguerite has caught the attention of enemies who will do anything to force her into helping them dominate the multiverse – even hurt the people she loves. She resists until her boyfriend, Paul, is attacked, and his consciousness is scattered across multiple dimensions.

The hunt for each splinter of Paul’s soul sends Marguerite racing through a war-torn San Francisco, the criminal underworld of New York City, and a glittering Paris where another Marguerite hides a shocking secret. Each dimension brings Marguerite one step closer to rescuing Paul. But with every trial she faces, she begins to question the one constant she’s found between the worlds: their love for each other. (Amazon)

Why I’m looking forward to it: I’m super duper excited for this book! I reviewed the first book in the series, A Thousand Pieces of You, earlier this year (you can find it here!) and gave it a solid four stars. This book looks like it will have more fast-paced adventures taking place in exotic locations (“war-torn San Francisco” anyone?) Plus just LOOK AT THAT BEAUT COVER. Enough said 🙂

What upcoming releases are you looking forward to?

Advertisements

Bookish Review: A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

A Thousand Pieces of YouA Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

Published: November 2014 by Harper Teen

Genre: Sci-fi, Romance

Rating: ♄ ♄ ♄ ♄ ♡

Goodreads  |  Buy on Amazon

Claudia Gray’s new sci-fi series has captured the imagination of many readers. This is a book I definitely judged by the cover (guilty!) and like a lot of people, I think it is undeniably gorgeous. I like that it hinted at the protagonist’s talent as well as the dimension-travelling theme of the book rather than just a generic pretty cover which can be common these days.

A quick summary: Marguerite Caine is the daughter of world-famous physicists who have managed to invent a device, the Firebird, which enables inter-dimensional travel. But knowledge like that puts the entire family into danger and soon Marguerite’s parents are betrayed by their assistant Paul. Marguerite, joined by Theo, another of her parents’ assistants, is soon jumping dimensions chasing after Paul in a bid to avenge her murdered father. However, she quickly realises people and things are not as they seem and some would kill to get their hands on the secrets of the Firebird…

The story was set up using flashbacks showing how the Firebird came about and the dynamics between the characters. Marguerite has grown up having her parent’s assistants around and often living with them in the family home. Paul and Theo have been around longer than usual and have become fixtures in the Caine home and so Paul’s betrayal stings Marguerite badly. It was inspiring to see her fight through her raw grief for her father and pursue Paul despite the dangers.

I loved the intricacy of the world building which is crucial to any fantasy or sci-fi book and Claudia Gray has done a fabulous job. Each dimension that Marguerite travelled to was really creative in its inception and (sometimes radically) different so it kept me on my toes trying to anticipate how similar or different each new dimension would be. I particularly enjoyed reading the science behind the Firebird (I know!) and it made the whole premise more believable.

[BEWARE HERE BE SPOILERS: A couple of thoughts on why the book lost a star in rating. There were points where I would’ve liked to see a bit more independence from Marguerite. She was accompanied at most points throughout the book by either Paul or Theo who were on hand to help her out of tight spots. Also the fact that both her father was alive and Theo absolved of guilt in the end felt a little too convenient to me. It would’ve been interesting to see Marguerite grow from her experience of these negative aspects of the Firebird. That said though, I did like how there were clues in the flashbacks as to what was really going on – it made me go back to chapters as I read the book to find hints and that kept it fresh and intriguing!]

To finish, one of my absolute favourite bits was the Russian dimension (not a spoiler I hasten to add! Get a closer look at that gorgeous cover because it’s on there clear as day). Yes, it was a little clichĂ©d and there were some plot holes that went against the laws of dimension travel that Gray had outlined BUT I’m a huge historical fiction fan so I fell totally in love with this world. Gray’s description was lovely and vivid.  Also, the question of fate and whether love can transcend time and place was something I enjoyed and I’m looking forward to seeing it explored in the next books.

The next book is due out in November later this year and I’m already salivating after the sure-to-be beautiful cover! There will be three books in total in the Firebird series. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone interested in sci-fi especially for fans of David Levithan’s Every Day and David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas.

Have you read A Thousand Pieces of You? Did the cover draw you to it? What did you think of it? Sound off in the comments below 🙂